When You Find Yourself Dwelling at Your Own Beer-lahai-roi

My grandparents built a little well that anchors itself in the backyard.  It isn’t a real well, but I see it daily outside my bathroom window.

IMG_0962

Scripture says that, “To everything there is a season, and a time for every matter or purpose under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to pluck up what is planted.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1-2)  In all my praying for a new season, I think somewhere I forgot that a new season means the old one must end.  This year, that has meant letting go of many things, including someone I loved very dearly.

photo - Copy (8)

photo - Copy (7)

IMG_0433

When thinking about what the Lord has taught me this year, I keep coming back to this well anchored in the backyard.  I’m reminded of a well in the Old Testament called Beer-lahai-roi, meaning a well to the Living One Who sees me.  This well was first named by Hagar when the Lord came to her in the midst of a difficult situation.

But the Scripture that has comforted me this year has been the season of Isaac’s life when he dwelt at this well.  In Genesis chapter 23 we read of the death of Sarah, Isaac’s mother.  Then later in chapter 24 we read how Isaac would visit this well to meditate and pray.  “Now Isaac had returned from going to the well Beer-lahai-roi [A well to the Living One Who sees me]…And Isaac went out to meditate and bow down in prayer in the open country in the evening…” (Genesis 24:62-63).  This is significant due to the context of grief.

Yet further, we see in chapter 25 when Isaac had to let go of another one he loved dearly, after his father Abraham died.  “After the death of Abraham, God blessed his son Isaac, and Isaac dwelt at Beer-lahai-roi [A well to the Living One Who sees me]. (Genesis 25:11)

It is this truth that brings comfort to my heart.  My eyes open to see the Lord speaking to me in my own difficult situation.  For in the context of grief this past year, God has given me my own little well outside my window to remind me that He sees me.  He hears me, and He knows my heart.  And for now, I dwell in my own Beer-lahai-roi, at the well of the Living One Who sees me.

“Yes, though I walk through the deep, sunless valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod to protect and Your staff to guide, they comfort me.” –Psalm 23:4 

IMG_0479

Leave a Reply

