How To Be Brave This Christmas

Psalm 37:3-5 have been very near and dear to my heart lately.

“3 Trust (lean on, rely on, and be confident) in the Lord and do good; so shall you dwell in the land and feed surely on His faithfulness, and truly you shall be fed.

4 Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart.

5 Commit your way to the Lord [roll and repose each care of your load on Him]; trust (lean on, rely on, and be confident) also in Him and He will bring it to pass.”

Perhaps these aren’t the typical Christmas verses, but they are truths that my heart needs.  When I feel heaviness and sadness, to trust the Lord and do good.

candle

candle 2

This season I am reminded of how broken things are around me, of all the things I wish I could fix but are outside of my control, of all that I don’t have that I often long I did.

But these verses challenge me to trust more deeply, and to keep doing good.  Perhaps that is the key.  Trusting helps me keep moving forward, helps me keep getting up in the morning and keep walking in the plans He has for me.

If I didn’t trust Him, I would be paralyzed, unable to do the good works He has prepared for me in advance. (Ephesians 2:10)

He knows the secret petitions of my heart.  Just like Zachariah in the temple, the Lord knew His innermost desires.  And He fulfilled them in His time. (Luke 1:13)

lights

 

poinsetta

tree

ornament

ornament 2

I don’t have to try to fix everything that is wrong.  I can’t.  But I can live open-handedly and open-heartedly for Him.

Trust Him, and “He will bring it to pass.” (v. 5)  He is my life and breath, even when things don’t make sense.  He is not the Author of confusion, but of peace. (1 Corinthians 14:33)

painting

“Wait and hope for and expect the Lord; be brave and of good courage and let your heart be stout and enduring.  Yes, wait for and hope for and expect the Lord.”

Psalm 27:14

Perhaps this is what it means to truly be brave.  To wait for Him.  To trust Him.  And to keep doing good.

So don’t lose heart this Christmas on whatever you are waiting for. Trust Him, and keep doing good.

ornaments

Leave a Reply

