Rescue Running Deep: Inspiration from TJ Jarrett’s Zion

TJ Jarrett’s fascination with water runs deep into the human soul.  In her poem “In The Years Following Rescue” from her book of poems Zion, she beautifully crafts the idea of being rescued through imagery. She writes, “I was drowning.  I had been drowning all my life / when he found me in this place and I was saved” (26).

She takes this idea of being saved further when she writes about her rescuer, “Here, he said, / when you were listless and learning breath, you reached / to me as if to say, I want to live. / And I did, I said.  I did” (26).

I am reminded of a part of Scripture that is near to me in the Psalms. David writes about his Rescuer:

“16 He reached down from on high and took hold of me; He drew me out of deep waters.

17 He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.

18 They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support.

19 He brought me out into a spacious place; He rescued me because He delighted in me.”

Psalm 18:16-19

IMG_0484

IMG_0485

What great beauty it is to know a Rescuer who delights in rescuing those sinking beneath the waters.

For more information on TJ Jarrett and her book Zion, click here.

Leave a Reply

