Unshakable Hope: When Life Feels Disappointing

Life can feel disappointing. Plans don’t work out the way I thought they would or expected them to. When what I did expect didn’t happen, and what I didn’t expect did happen. My mind can spin in circles trying to figure out circumstances that don’t seem to make sense.

What’s worse, though, is how disappointment undealt with can lead to depression and doubting God’s love for me. Why did this happen? Why didn’t this happen? Why didn’t this work out the way I expected? And then, So what do I do now?

FullSizeRender

Disappointment can be redeemed through one thing: hope. The foundation of my faith, being that Christ who was dead rose again. And because of His resurrection, there is more. There is hope. There is life. There is new life in Him.

Do I know specifically what the “more” is in my life? The timing, the place, the details? No. But because of this anchor of hope (Hebrews 6:19), founded in Him and not myself, I can have hope. Even when it feels like I’ve hit a dead end. Even in the wilderness seasons where God is more concerned about my heart and less about what I do.

IMG_2071

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

This hope is unshakable, even when I feel shaky and vulnerable. Even when I feel sad, let down, or afraid.

He is my hope, and in Him I will trust.

As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise You more and more. Psalm 71:14

There is more in the future. And there is more here and now, too.

FullSizeRender (9) FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender (6) FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (8)

FullSizeRender (11)

FullSizeRender (10)

Leave a Reply

